

SRC

The Royal Society of Canada The Academies of Arts, **Humanities and Sciences** of Canada

RSC



La Société royale du Canada Les Académies des arts, des lettres et des sciences du Canada

ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

DIVISION OF MEDICAL SCIENCES

DIVISION COMMITTEE FOR THE SELECTION OF New Fellows

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE - 2022

Date: March 4, 2022

- A. This is the first year of the nomination process for the Medical Sciences committee as the Life Sciences Division was split into two Divisions in 2021 establishing the Medical Sciences Division.
- B. Committee members:
- 1. Patricia O'Campo (University of Toronto)
- 2. V. Wee Yong (University of Calgary) Secretary
- 3. Rui Wang (York University)
- 4. Nada Jabado (McGill University)
- David Huntsman (University of British Columbia) 5.
- Shoukat Dedhar (University of British Columbia) 6.
- 7. Rima Rozen (McGill University)
- 8. Judy Illes (university of British Columbia)
- 9. Harold Robertson (Dalhousie University)
- 10. Mark Loeb (McMaster University)
- 11. Sandra Davidge (University of Alberta)

C. Number of files reviewed by the committee: 59.

The fellow files were divided into two groups which meant that each member reviewed around 25 files in Round 1. With conflicts each file had at least 4 committee members rank the nomination for Round 1.

After consolidating all ranks after Round 1, the top 22 were identified and circulated to the committee for Round 2 evaluation. These 22 were identified based upon the average of the rankings provided in Round 1. All members ranked the 22 files in Round 2 taking into consideration conflicts. A teleconference was held on March 2, 2022 to review the second set of rankings to generate the final list of recommended nominees. During the teleconference the committee endorsed the top 11 files as the A list based upon average scores from the Round 2 rankings. The committee then discussed the remaining candidates considering average ranks, quality of the letters, and scientific accomplishments to finalize the B list. The candidates on the B list were those that had the highest avg ranks (after the top 11) and appear in order below according to the level of enthusiasm of the committee members.

The committee's recommendations included members of equity deserving groups: women, francophone and some variation by region.

- D. List of candidates recommended for election (in alphabetical order):
 - Sonia Anand, McMaster University
 - Katherine Borden, University of Montreal
 - Laurent Brochard, Unity Health Toronto (Univ of Toronto)
 - Sylvain Chemtob, University of Montreal
 - Aaron Fenster, Western University
 - Mayank Goyal, University of Calgary
 - Richard Hughson, University of Waterloo
 - Gergely Lukacs, McGill University
 - David Malkin, Hospital for Sick Children (Univ of Toronto)
 - Steven Miller, University of Toronto
 - Stephen Scott, Queen's University
 - Janet Smylie, Unity Health Toronto (Univ of Toronto)
 - Jean-Claude Tardif, University of Montreal
- E. Suggestions/Comments regarding the nomination and review processes:
 - The new RSC requirement for unconscious bias training facilitated consideration of inclusion in our selections. Additional equity activities should be considered such as having nominees fill out an equity category membership survey. This would increase the accuracy of identifying those who belong to equity deserving groups as now we must make an educated guess.

- The committee felt we should meet to discuss potential improvements in our selection process for the Medical Sciences Division and may come back to RSC with further recommendations after we have that discussion.

This Life Science Division report is submitted by Dr. Patricia O'Campo (Chair) and Dr. Wee Yong (Secretary).

Yours truly,

Patricia Qamp

Patricia O'Campo Ph.D., F.R.S.C.

V. Wee Yong, Ph.D., F.R.S.C.



