Academy of Science Division of Biological Sciences Division Committee for the Selection of New Fellows Report of the Committee-2022

March 9, 2022.

A. Committee members:

- 1. Graham Bell (McGill University), Chair
- 2. Marla Sokolowski (University of Toronto), Secretary
- 3. Sally Aitken (University of British Columbia)
- 4. Spencer Barrett (University of Toronto)
- 5. Louis Bernatchez (Université de Laval)
- 6. Marie-Josée Fortin (University of Toronto)
- 7. Siegfried Hekimi (McGill University)
- 8. Bryan Kolb (University of Lethbridge)
- 9. Nancy Sherwood (University of Victoria)
- 10. Trish Shulte (University of British Columbia)
- 11. Verena Tunnicliffe (University of Victoria)

B. Number of files reviewed by the committee.

There were 33 regular nominations and 1 Foreign Fellow nomination, 34 files in total.

Procedure: The committee had their first meeting on Feb 4, 2002 to discuss procedures, committee member expertise, reviewer assignments, conflict of interest, the necessity of unconscious bias training and confidentiality. Each file was assigned 3 reviewers (a primary, secondary and tertiary reviewer). Reviewers scored their assigned nomination files with a 1 (yes), 2 (maybe) and 3 (no) designation. Each reviewer sent their rankings to the chair and the secretary on Feb 28th. An average for each candidate was obtained. The spreadsheet with each reviewer's score and the average score was returned to all committee members on March 1 2022 to ensure that there were no errors in transcribing the reviewer scores. The committee met on March 7, 2022 for 3.5 hours to formally select and approve the files to be listed in the A and B lists. Each file was presented by its primary reviewer followed by comments from the second and third reviewers. All files were read by all committee members. All committee members had the opportunity to comment on every file. Individuals in conflict of interest were not present when the respective file was discussed. The chair was a non-voting member of the committee. The candidates for the A list and the B list were unanimously approved by the committee.

C. Representativeness of the selected fellows.

We carefully examined the representativeness by excellence of the file, sex, ethnic minority, French speaking and university with low representation.

-There are 2 women (Heidi McBride and Virginia Walker) recommended for election.

-There is one person of ethnic minority (Ehab Abouheif) recommended for election.

-There is one (Stephen Cooke) from a university without a medical school (Carleton).

-Regrettably, no one was chosen from a francophone university.

The committee recommends that all of these individuals, in addition to the foreign fellow, be welcomed as fellows of the RSC.

D. List of candidates recommended for election in alphabetical order:

- Ehab Abouheif (McGill University)
- John Archibald (Dalhousie University)
- Steven Cooke (Carleton University)
- Heidi McBride (McGill University)
- Adrian Owen (Western University)
- Fabio Rossi (University of British Columbia)
- Igor Stagljar (University of Toronto)
- Virginia Walker (Queen's University)

E. Foreign fellow:

The committee voted to recommend Edward Rubin for election to the RSC.

The Biological Sciences Division report is submitted by Dr. Graham Bell (Chair) and Dr. Marla Sokolowski (Secretary). The committee thanks Christopher Dragan for his assistance in organizing the reviews.

Best Wishes,

Graham Bell, Ph.D., F.R.S.C., F.R.S.

MB Shlush

Marla B. Sokolowski, Ph.D. F.R.S.C.