

ACADEMY OF ARTS AND HUMANITIES DIVISION OF ARTS DIVISION COMMITTEE FOR THE SELECTION OF NEW FELLOWS REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE - 2022

Date: March 11th, 2022

- 1. Members on the Committee
 - Eve Egoyan, (unaffiliated) Chair
 - Herménégilde Chiasson, Université de Moncton
 - Liz Ingram, University of Alberta
 - Stephen Schofield, Université du Québec à Montréal
 - o Aritha van Herk, University of Calgary
- 2. Number of files reviewed by the committee: 4
- 3. List of candidates recommended for election:
 - David Chriandry, Simon Fraser University
 - Megumi Masaki, Brandon University
 - Judy Radul, Simon Fraser University
 - Jonathan Sterne, McGill University

Suggestions/Comments regarding the nomination process:

As per committee vote, all four candidates this year are unanimously invited to join the RSC this year.

The committee noted that there were once again very few candidates this year (4 this year and 3 in 2021). In particular, the committee would like to encourage more nominations in the fields of dance and sculpture which have been particularly under-represented. One committee member mentioned that it can be difficult to determine who considers themselves a sculptor as many artists include sculpting within their practice.

Furthermore, the committee notes that universities continue to be the primary source of nominations. The committee speculated that there may be a structural bias against non academics or non affiliated individuals within the membership with the result that institutional nominations are easier for the RSC to adjudicate than individual nominations. There is less incentive for unaffiliated artists to apply or to nominate each other since peer acknowledgement, progression through the ranks advancement advantages and perceived prestige to the institution that values a nomination do not carry the same weight for them.

The committee strongly recommends that, for the nominations process, the RSC consider examining the SSHRC and Canada Council grants as these are familiar to artists.



The committee agreed that the past two years of "suspended animation" would be a good opportunity to get members started on nominating candidates. The committee will be contacting Arts members shortly.

The committee will also try to draw together a list of arts organizations to reach out to for nomination.

Finally, the committee supports the recommendations from previous years, listed below:

- Waiving annual fees for non-affiliated artists and support for travel to induction ceremonies. Non-affiliated artists will have support provided centrally for their attendance at their induction ceremony. Please note that recently a prominent recommended artist declined her nomination because she did not have the funds to attend.
- Contacting arts organizations in a timely manner with an annual notice or call for nominations. Such a notice has the potential to reach potential nominators outside of academic circles.

Thank you as always for your consideration of the above.

Eve Egoyan,

Chair, Divisional Committee of the Selection of New Fellows, Arts Division