The Royal Society of Canada Announces Results from 2016 Presidential Elections

The Fellowship of the Royal Society of Canada has Presidents-Elect of its three Academies as well as a President-Elect of the College of New Scholars, Artiss and Scientists. "Once again the Fellowship has elected outstanding leaders from throughout Canada to serve at a time when science and research are being called upon. These four individuals have answered that call”, said RSC President Maryse Lassonde. 

The Academy of the Arts and Humanities has elected Jean Grondin, of the Université de Montréal.

The Academy of Social Sciences has elected Alain G. Gagnon, of the Université du Québec à Montréal.

The Academy of Science has elected Vijaya Raghavan, of McGill University.

The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists has elected Cynthia Milton, of the Université de Montréal.

The Presidents-Elect will assume office during the Annual General Meeting of the RSC on the weekend of November 17-19, 2016 at the Four Points by Sheraton in Kingston, Ontario.