Medals & Awards

The RSC  Medals/ Awards competition is now closed.

The 2018 winners for the following medal/awards will be contacted in the month of July. The public announcement will be released in late September 2018.

Humanities and Social Sciences:

Innis-Gérin Medal (Medal) - Awarded fordistinguished and sustained contributions to the literature of the social sciences including human geography and social psychology

J.B. Tyrrell Historical Medal (Medal) - For outstanding work in the field of the history of Canada

Lorne Pierce Medal (Medal) - Awarded forspecial significance and conspicuous merit in imaginative or critical literature written in either English or French (critical literature dealing with Canadian subjects has priority over critical literature of equal merit that does not deal with Canadian subjects).

Ursula Franklin Award in Gender Studies (Diploma) - Awarded to a Canadian scholar for their contributions in the humanities and social sciences to furthering our understanding of issues concerning gender

Yvan Allaire Medal (Medal + $5,000) - For outstanding contribution in governance (Social Sciences)


Bancroft Award (Diploma) - Awarded forpublication, instruction, and research in the earth sciences that have conspicuously contributed to public understanding and appreciation of the subject

Flavelle Medal (Medal) - For outstanding contribution to biological science during the preceding ten years or for significant additions to a previous outstanding contribution to biological science

John L. Synge Award (Diploma) - Foroutstanding research in any of the branches of the mathematical sciences (preference to candidates under 40)

McLaughlin Medal (Medal) - For important research of sustained excellence in any branch of medical sciences.

Miroslaw Romanowski Medal (Medal + $3,000) - Awarded for contributions towards theresolution of scientific aspects of environmental problems or for important improvements to the quality of an ecosystem in all aspects - terrestrial, atmospheric and aqueous - brought about by scientific means

Rutherford Memorial Medals (one in Chemistry and one in Physics) (Medal) - For research in chemistry or physics - preference will be given to candidates under forty years old 

Willet G. Miller Medal (Medal) - For research in solid earth sciences & in ocean and atmospheric sciences

Nomination form - Guide - Examples


Nominations will be initiated by Fellows of the RSC (Fellows)or Institutional Members (IMs).

The criterion for nomination shall be excellence, which is understood to encompass the goals of diversity and inclusivity to which the RSC is committed, and to which the membership of RSC is expected to exemplify in terms of discipline, gender, ethno-racial diversity, aboriginality, and official languages.

The Academy Medal & Award Committees will select the winners.

A complete nomination dossier must be accompanied by the following items:

  1. Nomination form
  2. A cover letter from the primary nominator
  3. Two co-nominator letters
  4. Citation (maximum 70 words each)
  5. Detailed appraisal (maximum 1200 words)
  6. Three reference letters (maximum of three pages each + 250 word bio)
  7. A CV (maximum 20 pages)

All letters must follow the examples. Incomplete nominations will be rejected. It is the responsibility of the primary nominator to ensure that the application is complete and accurate.

Candidates must be Canadian citizens or have had status for at least three years as Canadian Permanent Residents.

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2018 at 8h00pm (eastern time) except for the Yvan Allaire medal which is March 31.

Nomination dossiers will be valid for one competition only.

If you require assistance please contact,(613) 991-6990 extension 106.