The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) Announces Results from Presidential Election

The Fellowship of the Royal Society of Canada has elected a President-Elect, and the three Academies of the RSC have elected Presidents-Elects.

The President-Elect of the Royal Society of Canada is Graham Bell, FRSC, James McGill Professor and Chair of the Biology Department at McGill University.

“Dr. Bell was an outstanding President of the Academy of Science, and this has been an ideal preparation for his upcoming leadership of the Society,” said RSC President Yolande Grisé. “Graham’s remarkable record of scholarship is matched by his administrative abilities and his vision for the future of the RSC.”

The Academy of Arts and Humanities has elected Madame Yolande Cohen, FRSC Professor in the Department of History at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM).

The Academy of Social Sciences has elected Simon Langlois, FRSC, Professor in the Department of Sociology at the Université Laval.

The Academy of Science has elected Keith Hipel, FRSC, Professor in the Department of Systems Design and Engineering at the University of Waterloo.

President Grisé added “In the case of each of our three Academies, the Fellowship has identified scholars whose priorities and strength will fulfill the promise of our Strategic Plan 2012-2017.”

The Presidents-Elect will assume office during the Annual General Meeting of the RSC on the weekend of November 14, 2013. Founded in 1882, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) comprises the Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada.  Its mission is to recognize scholarly, research and artistic excellence, to advise governments and organizations, and to promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada and with other national academies around the world.

Erika Kujawski, Senior Officer of Communications, The Royal Society of Canada, (613) 991-6990 Ext. 105, Mobile: (613) 816-4967,; Internet:; Twitter: