The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) Names New Fellows

The Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada have elected 71 new Fellows, including one Foreign Fellow, and one Honorary Fellow. The newly elected Fellows have diverse backgrounds and disciplines. They have been elected by their peers in recognition of outstanding scholarly, scientific and artistic achievement.

Election to the academies of the Royal Society of Canada is the highest honour a scholar can achieve in the Arts, Humanities and Sciences.

"This year, in the year of its 130th anniversary, the RSC is pleased to congratulate the new cohort of Fellows and welcome them among its ranks. These Fellows were recently elected by their peers in a highly competitive environment of numerous, first-rate candidates. Through their exceptional work, these new Fellows pursue the distinguished work of a long line of researchers and creators who have contributed to expand Canada’s intellectual, artistic and scientific resources to support Canada’s population and its international scope" said Professor Yolande Grisé, President of the RSC.

Founded in 1882, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) comprises the Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada. Its mission is to recognize scholarly, research and artistic excellence, to advise governments and organizations, and to promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada and with other national academies around the world.

This year's new Fellows will be inducted to the RSC during the Induction and Awards Ceremony on Saturday, November 17, 2012 at the Ottawa Convention Centre in Ottawa. To view a complete list of newly elected Fellows and their nomination citations and to register for this event, please visit the Society's website at

Erika Kujawski, Senior Officer of Communications, The Royal Society of Canada, (613) 991-6990 Ext. 105, Mobile: (613) 816-4967,; Internet:; Twitter: